Admin settings on Jira Cloud


About the Administrator Settings

As the name implies, these settings are only visible by users with Administrator privileges. All the settings on this page are accessible by entering the “Apps” section on Jira settings and then clicking on the "Team Files Settings" link on the sidebar.


Allowed storage places

By default, users can connect folders from all the storage places supported by the Team Files app.

Administrators can easily restrict the usage of specific storage places to ensure that the usage of the Team Files aligns with the company policies.

Disable a storage place for all users

  1. Click the "Places" tab on the Team Files settings page.

  2. Click the switch on the storage places you want to disable.

  3. The switch changes to the off position to indicate the storage place was disabled, and users can no longer connect folders from that storage place.

Changes to these settings save automatically and apply immediately.

What happens to places the users connected before the Admin disabled them?

If a user connected a folder from a storage place that the Admin later disables, it is blocked inside the Team Files app. All connected folders from that place are blocked too, and if there are attached folders and files from a blocked storage place, the content won't be visible, and they'll display a warning mentioning the Admin blocked the access.

Re-enable a storage place for all users

  1. Click the "Places" tab on the Team Files settings page.

  2. Click the switch on the disabled storage place you want to re-enable.

  3. The switch changes to the on position to indicate the storage place is enabled, and users can connect folders from that storage place again.

Changes to these settings save automatically and apply immediately.


Require authentication

The Team Files app simplifies the authentication by default, favoring ease of use with simplified permissions. Admins can require users to authenticate with an account with access to connected folders to better control how files are shared, viewed, and edited. 

What changes 

Keep in mind that this option requires users to sign in to each connected folder to view and edit the files, so the correct permissions are applied to each user. Learn more

This setting replaces the previous “Permissions for editing documents on SharePoint and OneDrive” setting.


Applying "Require Authentication"

  1. Click the "Authentication" tab on the Team Files settings page.

  2. Click the toggle to turn on the option.

Changing this setting saves automatically and applies immediately.


Deactivating "Require Authentication

  1. Click the "Authentication" tab on the Team Files settings page.

  2. Click the toggle to turn off the option.

Changing this setting saves automatically and applies immediately.


Attachments preview

By default, the files and folders attached to Jira issues appear in the collapsed view to use less space on the screen. It's easy to preview the file by clicking the arrow to open the expanded view.

However, an Admin can change the default to the expanded view so that the preview is immediately visible. 

Select the default way to display the attached documents and folders on your issues

  1. Click the "Preview" tab on the Team Files settings page

  2. Click the desired option

Changes to these settings save automatically and apply immediately.


Allowed projects

By default, the Team Files app is available to be used on all projects. It’s accessible with a link on the project sidebar and a button on the issues to attach files and folders.

However, an Admin can specify which Jira projects can use the Team Files app. When a project doesn’t have permission to use the app, the file manager and the attach button are hidden.

In the "Projects" tab, you can see the current settings. There are three main options that you can select from the drop-down menu: 

Option 1: All projects can use the app (default option)

It is the default option and means that every project has access to the Team Files app.

Option 2: Only selected projects can use the app

Select this option if you only want to allow the Team Files app for some projects.

Adding a project:

Click the “Add Project” button, start typing to select a project, and click the “Add” button. The project gets access to the app immediately.

Removing a project:

Search for the project you want to remove, click the “Remove” button and confirm. The app is hidden from the project immediately.

Option 3: The selected projects can’t use the app

Select this option if you only want to hide the Team Files app for some projects.

Adding a project:

Click the “Add Project” button, start typing to select a project, and click the “Add” button. The app is hidden from the project immediately.

Removing a project:

Search for the project you want to remove, click the “Remove” button and confirm. The project gets access to the app immediately.

 

Disabling the Team Files app for a project already using it hides the file manager link and all the attached files and folders to issues. The attachments will be there if the app is re-enabled.

Project owners can also toggle on/off the Team Files app, as long as allowed by the admin.


Allowed users and groups

By default, the Team Files app can be used by all users and groups. It’s accessible with a link on the project sidebar and as a macro on pages to attach files and folders.

However, an Admin can specify which users and groups can use the Team Files app. When someone doesn’t have permission to use the app, the file manager and the macro are blocked for them.

In the "Users & Groups" tab, you can see the current settings. There are three main options that you can select from the drop-down menu: 

Option 1: Everyone can use the app (default option)

It is the default option and means that every user and group has access to the Team Files app.

Option 2: Everyone can use the app, only selected users and groups can connect folders

Select this option if everyone should be able to use the Team Files app, but only some users and groups can connect folders.

Adding a user or group:

Click the “Add User/Group” button, start typing to select a name, and click the “Add” button. The user or group gets access to connect folders immediately.

Removing a user or group:

Search for the user or group you want to remove, click the “Remove” button and confirm. The option to connect folders is hidden from the user or group immediately.

 

Option 3: Only selected users and groups can use the app and connect folders

Select this option if you only want some users and groups to use the Team Files app, and specify who can connect folders.

Adding a user or group:

Click the “Add User/Group” button, start typing to select a name, and click the “Add” button. The user or group gets access to the app immediately.

Connect folder permission:

Use the toggle button to determine if a user or group can connect folders.

Removing a user or group:

Search for the user or group you want to remove, click the “Remove” button and confirm. The app is blocked for the user or group immediately.

 


Wrap-up

On this page, you learned about all the Admin settings available at the moment. As we introduce new features, we'll also add more Admin settings as needed. 

If you still have questions or require other global settings, visit our support portal to send us your questions or feature requests. Our team is always happy to help.